GST council consists of:

(a) The Union Finance Minister (as Chairman),

(b) The Union Minister of State in charge of Revenue or Finance,
(c) The Minister in charge of Finance or Taxation or any other Minister, nominated by each state government.

All decisions of the GST Council will be made by three-fourth majority of the votes cast; the centre shall have one-third of the votes cast, and the states together shall have two-third of the votes cast.

The GST Council will make recommendations on:

(a) Taxes, cesses, and surcharges to be subsumed under the GST,

(b) Goods and services which may be subject to, or exempt from GST,

(c) The threshold limit of turnover for application of GST,

(d) Rates of GST,

(e) Model GST laws, principles of levy, apportionment of IGST and principles related to place of supply,

(f) Special provisions with respect to the eight north eastern states, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, and Uttarakhand,

(g) And related matter.

This topic was discussed in School of Economics orĀ Coaching Classes in Economics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *